OFFICERS 2016-2018

DEAN C. LOGAN PRESIDENT Los Angeles County

SUSAN M. RANOCHAK VICE PRESIDENT Mendocino County

JOE HOLLAND TREASURER Santa Barbara County

BRANDI L. ORTH SECRETARY Fresno County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County

JOE CANCIAMILLA Contra Costa County

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

MARK LUNN Ventura County

RYAN RONCO Placer County

MICHAEL SCARPELLO San Bernardino County

MICHAEL VU San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Vallejo City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County

GAIL L. PELLERIN Santa Cruz County

CATHY DARLING ALLEN Shasta County

NEAL KELLEY Orange County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

TOMMY GONG
Central Area

San Luis Obispo County CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bay Area

Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES

**voting member

CLERK OF THE BOARD:

JOHN MCKIBBEN** Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

DONNA ALLRED** Sacramento County

VICTORIA RODRIGUEZ Riverside County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE** Sacramento County TRICIA WEBBER Santa Cruz County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

DEAN C. LOGAN, PRESIDENT

Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk 12400 Imperial Highway, Suite 7001, Norwalk, CA 90650 (562) 462-2716 – Fax (562) 929-4790

E-Mail: <u>DLogan@rrcc.lacounty.gov</u> CACEO website: <u>www.caceo58.org</u>

March 23, 2017

Senator Bob Hertzberg State Capitol Building, Room 4038 Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Senator Hertzberg:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials Elections Legislative Committee is pleased to support **SB 205**, your Local Government Omnibus Act of 2017, specifically the section that deals with oaths of office for elected and appointed offices.

Current law surrounding when a person takes their oath of office can be interpreted that taking an oath to become a candidate suffices for assuming office. Your amendment to Government Code 1360 clearly states that an oath of office must taken following the election and/or appointment to an office and the date the office is assumed. This will allow all elected and appointed offices oaths across California will be administered uniformly.

If you or your staff has any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at tricia.webber@santacruzcounty.org or (831) 454-2409, or Jill LaVine, Sacramento County Registrar of Voters at lavinej@saccounty.net or (916) 875-6060.

Respectfully,

Sicialsebber

Tricia Webber

Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

cc: Darren Chesin, Chief Consultant, Senate Committee on Elections and Constitutional Amendments

Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc. Nick Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc. Silvio Ferrari, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.

Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee